Designing New Branding for Etsy

Magic Town Midway business cards

After trying several different ideas for my new Etsy shop branding, I decided to go with the theme of a vintage fairground or circus.

Magic Town Midway rebranding
Rough sketch showing how I wanted my shop header and logo to look

I decided this mainly because the word ‘midway’ is an American term for a sideshow or an area of amusements at a fairground. I like the idea of my shop being a bit of a bazaar, almost like a little museum of curiosities from the past mixed with art from the future. A kind of sideshow. As I collect and sell vintage, the vintage fairground theme definitely seemed like a good idea! I did a few rough sketches, then started researching vintage lettering and patterns.

Magic Town Midway Rebranding ideas
Letters and a logo idea

Lettering was one of my worst classes at college so I’m actually quite pleased with how these turned out. I drew all of the letters by hand, scanned them, and then played about in Photoshop ’til they looked right.

Magic Town Midway rebranding
Photoshoppin’

Somewhere on Google images I found a picture of an old fairground sign which said ‘Our aim is to please you’. I really loved the idea of this for my shop and decided to use it on a scroll. I also found some fairground pictures of big painted wooden arrows bearing slogans like ‘Winner’ and ‘Get Lucky’, so decided to have one of these each side of my banner to frame it nicely and welcome people in!

Magic Town Midway Etsy shop
The final header and logo

The main arch across the centre of my final design is based on a sign I saw above a ghost train! The orange circles along each edge are the lights. And the striped background was an idea I got from an old fashioned coconut shy. I wanted the banner to be bright and eyecatching, as well as something I could use across all social medias.

Magic Town Midway business cards
New business cards to send with Etsy orders

It took me awhile to get it all together, but I’m pleased with how it looks now πŸ™‚

xJx

 

Leave a Reply

